Whole 30 and A Whole Chicken

Today is only day five, and I kind of promised that I would only update once a week, but today has been serious. I heard of the tales of the dreaded “Whole 30, day five,” and as I have had a pretty smooth ride so far, I wasn’t exactly worried.  Well, day 5 did bring a serious challenge and I am wondering if any of you deal/ have dealt with the same thing.

At around 10 this morning, I started to get a little hungry and immediately after realizing that, I was craving a rotisserie chicken. Seems simple enough, right? WRONG.

I live about an hour (45 minutes in good traffic) from the closest kosher market, so getting your hands on a fresh rotisserie chicken is no easy task…but I NEEDED it. When my significant other/delivery service told me how inconvenient it was, I had two options in my mind 1. starve or 2. cry everywhere. I chose the unmentioned third option, complain/beg for chicken.

I mean, how ridiculous is that? He was offering to bring me salmon with veggies, eggs with veggies, a burger, all kinds of delicious goodness; but I NEEEEEDED the chicken. 

So day five wasn’t hard because I was craving junk food, I actually still don’t miss any of it, not even when I am hungry… But day five flipped this switch that most people would baccarat me for; I am hungry, I have my mind set on what I want to eat, and if I cant have it, I literally rather starve…or cry until I’m not hungry anymore. Yes…seriously.

The struggle was real.
The struggle was real.

I am happy to report that my near tears plea worked and we drove 45 minutes to get my chicken. I happily devoured half of it with my bare hands, and with an enthusiasm that may have my coworkers concerned… #noregrets

I was Whole 30 compliant, full, and happy with life.

Has this ever happened to any of you fellow Whole 30-ers?

Much Love, 

Lucy Loves Life… and clearly, chicken xx

Leave a Reply

