Whole 30, Day 10: The Struggle is Real

Has this happened to any of you Whole 30-ers?

I finally had a moment of ” I hate this, I want ice cream,” yesterday. I was unbelievably cranky and totally down in the dumps.  For what reason? I don’t actually know, all I know is that I wanted sugar.

I didn’t want to get dressed up, I didn’t want to go out, I didn’t want to exercise, and I really didn’t want to crack away at my massive list of “things to do before New York.” I wanted a lazy day, but I also didn’t want to sit around. I was basically miserable and the only remedy I could think of was cake.

With that, I took the day as slowly as I could. My workout consisted of walking on the treadmill, while watching Russell Howard’s Good News (HILARIOUS), and staring out of the window. I figured at least getting my steps in would count for something, right? I went to my happy place (the kitchen) and whipped up a new recipe (yum) for dinner, which always lifts my mood a little bit…

FullSizeRender
Can you tell we really like mango salsa?

For dessert, I did something totally against the rules and made banana and egg pancakes. I know, I know…OOOOOH Lucy cheated.

It was fantastic. Letting myself “cheat” took away this intense anxiety and miserable feeling I was having, I didn’t technically eat anything against the rules, and no one died; that’s my idea of a win-win situation.

So maybe I failed at getting beyond that psychological hurdle; but with a 10 page essay, a psych exam to study for, a room to unpack, a suitcase to pack, and other random activities on my to-do list, conquering my psychological attachment to banana-egg pancakes was the least of my worries.

On the bright side: I am seeing a huge decrease in bloating, and loving it!

Much love,

Lucy Loves Life…and mango-avocado salad xx

Leave a Reply

