Disassembling the Past

“As you learn who you are, you can better surround yourself with friends who make you a better person, and that sometimes only happens when you disassemble old relationships.”

IMG_0642
 

As I get older and really begin to examine who I am and what I want, I almost feel like I re-live my past too often. Though recently, I’ve realized that’s how I grow. I spent a lot of time (as you guys can attest to) disassembling my first relationship and trying to really boil down to the “why?” of it all.  I used to think that the disassembling was obsessing and just reopening old wounds; looking back I was terribly wrong, and so glad I “obsessed” until my heart was content.

I disassembled him, I disassembled myself, and somewhere in those couple of months, I found my answers, and myself. I didn’t open old wounds, on the contrary, I closed them and never looked back in the same heart-breaking way. When I do look back, I can admit to missing him, especially when I disassemble and remember the good times, but I also found the closure that he would never be right for me and that looking back wasn’t a sign of weakness. 

I truly learned what I want (and REALLY dont want) from my future relationships, I learned that he was the one “punching” (I’ll thank GZ for that revelation), and I learned to truly appreciate our time; because if nothing else, it contributed to the relationship I am growing now, and I couldn’t imagine life without it. 

Much love, 

Lucy Loves Life…and GZ revelations xx

Leave a Reply

