Yoga Intentions

Before every yoga practice, the instructor will have the class stop for a moment to meditate on your intention. I normally focus on saying things like, “I am strong,” “I am beautiful,” or some other self motivating mantra to drill into my head as I detach from my worries, and focus on myself.

Usually, I am pretty good at coming up with these on my own, but this week, my instructor gave me my intention without even knowing it. She said,

 “What you can do today, you may not be able to do in a year, what you did last year, you may not be able to do today, and in a year, you may be able to do things that you can’t do today. Yoga teaches you humility, to enjoy the present moment, and just go with the flow.” 

At this time of year, it is hardest for me to accept what I see as failures. It is the time when I evaluate my “what-ifs” and reminisce on something that is no longer, and will never be again.

But today, as I throw on my yoga pants and get ready to head into the studio, I will be reminding myself….

Who and what I am today is something I thought to be impossible a year or two ago, who and what I was with and experiencing a year or two ago will never be the same again, and in the next year or two, these anniversaries may not even cross my mind, as who and what I am, along with who I love and what I want, will be astronomically different than it is today.

I have to humble myself and stop believing it is me that has any control. I need to humble myself and just let go. I am strong, and I am beautiful, but what I sometimes forget is that I worthy of all good things. I need to realize that when one good thing comes to an end, the next good thing follows, and before that even ends, the next best thing is already on it’s way. That’s the way it’s always been, and I need to trust the flow and myself.

Today’s intention: In the present, I am worthy of love and success. Because of that, I cannot miss what was, more than I anticipate what is to come. 

Much love, 

Lucy Loves Life…and yoga intentions xx 

Leave a Reply

